Our App is a comprehensive tour of this ancient Jacobite home near Innerleithen in the Scottish Borders. Home to the Maxwell Stuart family, the house is today maintained and lived in by the 21st Lady of Traquair and her family. Packed with Jaocbite history it contains the story of the stormy visit by Mary Queen of Scots and her husband, objects with hidden messages of support for Bonnie Prince Charlie, as well as a secret room and stairs to hide Catholic priests. You can also hear music played by an original harpsichord, find out why the Bear Gates were closed in 1745 and have never reopened, and discover more about the sightings of the ghost of Lady Louisa Stuart.
Traquair is Scotland’s oldest inhabited house. It has been lived in for over 900 years and was originally a hunting lodge for the kings and queens of Scotland. During the 1500s and 1600s the main building was completed and it was during this time that the Lairds of Traquair were at the centre of political power and became associated with Mary Queen of Scots who visited Traquair in 1566. In the early 1600s the 7th Laird rose to become Chief High Treasurer of Scotland in 1636 and was granted an earldom. However, in the mid-1600s the family returned to the Catholic faith, thereby forfeiting any further chance of advancement and their later support for the Jacobite cause increased their isolation.